The Tytherington Telephone Kiosk
Home    Buildings

The Tytherington telephone kiosk is an iconic feature in the centre of the village.  The design of the kiosks in the UK changed over the years,  with the Tytherington kiosk being a K6. The K6 kiosk was commissioned by the General Post Office in 1935 to commemorate the Silver Jubilee of King George V. The design needed to be suitable for universal use, not repeating the mistakes of earlier kiosks. The K2 and K3 were attractive designs but had proved problematic. The K2 was too large and too expensive; the K3 too brittle. The General Post Office turned again to Sir Giles Gilbert Scott, with his triumphant new kiosk appearing in 1936. Some 8,000 kiosks were installed as part of the 'Jubilee Concession', allowing towns and villages with a Post Office to apply for a kiosk. A year later under the 'Tercentenary Concession' celebrating the Post Office's 300th anniversary, a further 1,000 kiosks were installed over 12 years for local authorities paying a five year subscription of 4. In 1939 a more vandal-proof Mk II version was introduced.

We are unsure of the exact date when the Tytherington kiosk arrived in the village but the picture below top left was taken before 1944 when the Smithy Cottage, on the right of Church Cottage, was destroyed by fire.  The present day Smithy Cottage built in the 21st century is an excellent replica of the original.

In September 2016 British Telecom posted a notice that since the kiosk in Tytherington had very little use they proposed to remove it.  However, the Parish Council and local villagers are keen to keep this iconic structure and it has been 'adopted'.  Even if it cannot be used to make calls there are various plans for the community to use the kiosk.  So watch this space!

Tytherington Telephone Kiosk pre 1944                      Tytherington Telephone Kiosk April 2017


Corner of West Street and an old barn (long gone!) in what is now Jubilee Field.  Possibly the approximate site of the telephone kiosk

The old village shop in Liberty House and the telephone kiosk c.1965

Miss Humphries postmistress c1940


New refurbished telephone kiosk Dec 2017